Artist of the Month

deli cover



July 2015
Ecstatic Vision
"Sonic Praise
Heavy-psych three-piece Ecstatic Vision conjures cosmic soundscapes with their debut LP Sonic Praise (Relapse Records). Self-ordained as “primal,” the group’s orchestration is undeniably gripping and visceral, altering the embodied state of its listener at an instant. Pressing past the tropes of genre, Sonic Praise is a hypnotic example of the outfit’s versatility. The release of Ecstatic Vision’s tripped-out LP is hopefully the first of many.
Beginning with the well-titled “Journey,” Sonic Praise’s opening track unfolds like a swirling chant that gradually builds to bawdy, passionate dirge filled with buzzing riffs and drums. The song’s lyricism is straightforward yet amplified by the unrelenting progression of its instrumentation. The declaration of “Journey” is unapologetic. It’s not a conversation; it’s an invitation. At its climax, the resonance of the recording brings to mind similarly transcendent tracks like Moon Duo’s “Free The Skull” or Ty Segall’s “I Wear Black.”
“Astral Plane” is a tentative tip of the hat to the iconic Sun Ra’s masterpiece Space Is the Place, unfolding with driving riffs and drumbeats that elicit the sensation of being transported into the ether. By the two-minute mark, “Astral Plane” is in full swing, impressive guitar work resounding as the track’s earlier established foundation persists. Each component of the song’s structure expands as frontman Doug Sabolick’s vocals urge listeners to “Look in the mirror and tell yourself/this is the place to be.” Undoubtedly indicative of the cosmos (metaphorically or literally), “Astral Plane” is trancelike, with its instrumentation possessing the power to cast a psychedelic spell that lingers well past the song’s end. Nearly thirty seconds shy of thirteen minutes of length, the temporal duration of the recording is as well warranted as it is executed. “Don’t Kill The Vibe” is equally shamanistic, with riffage that feels psychotropic. The LP’s title track, “Sonic Praise,” begins with primeval distortion comprised of oscillating tempos and forlorn chants. The effect of its prelude is mesmerizing, dark, and strangely beautiful. Thematically cult like, “Sonic Praise” is satisfyingly otherworldly, seducing its listener to give in to Ecstatic Vision’s melodic ethos without hesitation. 
Sonic Praise’s final anthem “Cross the Divide” extends the mysticism of the album’s narrative, ending Ecstatic Vision’s debut on a plane similar to where it began - one of enlightenment and pure rock 'n' roll. - Dianca London Potts



This is a preview of the new Deli charts - we are working on finalizing them by the end of 2013.

Go to the old Top 300 charts


scene blog


Morris Carpool

Morris Carpool is a trio that blurs the line between Country and Americana. The debut LP, American Dreamin' was released last week and is filled with blue collar tales of love, labor, and struggle.



NixonLove is the work of the talented Liz-E Gavillet. She is a part of Good Bear Records and over the last month she has released several singles, "No Money", "Within Your Cage", and "Nawrk". She also released two solid covers and a video for her track "Landslide".


Graham Czach @ Double Door

Earlier this month we announced that Graham Czach will be releasing his new EP, Star by Star, on May 2nd. He recently released the first single from the EP, "Out of the Dark".

You can catch Graham Czach at Double Door celebrating the release on May 2nd with Todd Kessler, Cellrs, and Backyard Cohort.


Essex Chanel

Travis Lee Wiggins and Essex Chanel have released a new album, Some Strange Fantasy, their first since 2009's Love Is Proximity. The album was constructed to follow the drastically changing midwest seasons. The band recommends the listener do the following; Listen while sipping a fresh cup of medium-roast coffee. Kick back on a Saturday afternoon at home as the warm spring sun peeks in through half-drawn shades. Flavors are highlighted with a little Mary Jane. Perfect for long drives with the windows cracked. 

You can pick up a physical copy of Some Strange Fantasy here



Loppa Albon

Loppa Albon is the lo-fi dream-pop persona of Alex Lappin. He released a new cassette last week called Plumblossums via Hellhole Supermarket Records.




New Poll Coming Soon!

[sponsored by]

stompbox exhibit

- news for musician and music pros -